Biological Psychiatry Australia

Biological Psychiatry Australia is a newly formed society for professionals interested in the advancement of biological research in psychiatry.

The research focus of the Society encompasses the application of biological techniques to investigate and better understand the causes of psychiatric disorders and the translation of neuroscience research to the development of more effective clinical treatments.

The society convenes annually at a meeting designed to promote academic exchange and collaboration between researchers and clinicians working in related fields.

Executive committee

President Darryl Eyles, University of Queensland
Vice-president Thomas Burne, University of Queensland
Secretary Zoltan Sarnyai, James Cook University
Treasurer Christina Perry, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health
Webmaster James Kesby, University of Queensland
ECRN representative TBD
Committee members
Andrea Gogos, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health
Yann Quidé, University of New South Wales
Tertia Purves-Tyson, Neuroscience Research Australia
Lauren Harms, University of Newcastle

Click here for a report on the Society’s launch in 2010.

Click here for a copy of the BPA constitution.


BPA Early Career Researchers Network (ECRN)

Biological Psychiatry Australia has an active network of early career scientists who have established a range of awards and avenues to help young scientists.

To find out more about the BPA-ECRN, head to their twitter page here.

Click here for the Travel Award Application form and here for terms and conditions.